You are here: About us | Location | Germany

General Information about Germany

The Federal Republic of Germany lies in the centre of Europe and covers an area of 357,021 square kilometres (137,847 sq mi). Is comprised of 16 individual states.  The capital of Germany is Berlin. Germany's position as a geographical link between Eastern and Western Europe as well as between Scandinavia and the Mediterranean has become even more clearly defined since reunification in 1989.  

A founding member of the European Economic Communities in the mid-20th century, Germany now plays a leading role in the European Union and is home to the European Central Bank in Frankfurt. With 80.3 million inhabitants, it is also the most populous member state in the European Union.

Germany is the major economic and political power of the European continent and a historic leader in many theoretical and technical fields. Known for its rich cultural and political history, Germany has been the home of many influential philosophers, music composers, scientists, and inventors.

Germany has an extraordinary variety of charming landscapes. From north to south, the country is divided into five regions with different topographical features: the North German Plain, the Central Upland Range, the plateau panorama of the southwest, the Alpine foothills in the south, and the Bavarian Alps.

Germany is situated in the moderately cool west wind zone, and whilst in recent years Germany's weather has become rather unpredictable, possibly as a result of global warming, it is in general still fairly typical of a continental climate, including periods of cold (down to minus 20°C) in winter, and in summer temperatures of up to 30°C and above.

Letzte Änderung: 03.04.2014 - 11:43:42